Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Overview

  • : dina.montgomery
  • : The blog of Dina Montgomery
  • Contact
May 14 2011 6 14 /05 /May /2011 14:04

Bed bugs are tiny little parasites that feed on blood. They like to hide anywhere, but the places they tend to hide most is the well lived spaces in your home. Even though they are called bed bugs, that’s not the only place they like to live and feed. These wingless, tiny bugs will also hide in your chairs, couches, and other furnishings.

Getting rid of the bed bugs

To get rid of these annoying bugs you need to wash all of your bedding - this includes pillows.

After washing, you need to dry all of it in the dryer with the heat setting on high for at least 20 minutes. Bed bugs can’t live in high heat for more than 20 minutes, so drying the bedding until dry on high heat will kill them.

Inspect your bed mattress and if you see bed bugs, take some heavy-duty duct tape, lift and remove them from the bed mattress, clothes, floor, and anywhere else that you see them.

Don't do this

The worst thing you could do is vacuum them up, because they will just crawl out of the vacuum and go right back to you your bed, and other furnishings.

Keep them away

One way to repel these annoying little parasites from your bed is to take some scented dryer sheets and place about 8 to 10 of them between your mattress and the box spring. You will want to do the same thing on top of the mattress.

Tips

Place them between the mattress and your bed sheets, and don’t forget to place about 1 or 2 sheets inside both pillow cases. For your chairs, couches, and other furnishings, place about two to three dryer sheets under the cushions to help keep the bed bugs away. The reason why the dryer sheets repel bed bugs is because they don’t like the smell and they stay away.

Prevent them from coming back

For further preventative techniques, you can take duct tape and wrap the bed legs and rails with the duct tape. Make sure to wrap them with the sticky side out, this will prevent the bed bugs from crawling into your bed. Remember that they are wingless, so they don’t fly.

Do the same thing for the legs of your chairs, couches, and other furnishings you have in the house.

Conclusion

These are just a few of the things you can do to get rid of bed bugs and to help keep them from coming back and invading your home.

Bed bugs | Source http://www. archive. org/details/popularsciencemo37n
Share this post
Repost0

comments

T
They kept crawling in my hair while I was laying in bed. I put a dryer sheet in my pony tail and I got the first restful night with NO itching in weeks! Thank you! I know they are still lurking, but they DEF hate dryer sheets. Which explains why they don't like my bathroom linen closet full of dryer sheets, the bathroom has always seemed to be a safe zone and now I know why. :)
Reply
J
I also have a bad bed bug infestation! They were brought into my house by a family member who had rented a house a few blocks from me that had already been infested i have tried every spray and bomb i cant get my hands on nothing works!! So i came across this site about the dryer sheets and at this point im willing to try anything. I am so tired of me and my family getting so many bites day and night and while the dryer sheets did help alot we still got a few bites so any other advice you could email me would be great because i dont have thousands of dollars to give a professional to come spray my house!! I am looking for truthful and helpful infornation please!
Reply
K
SPraying with 91% rubbing alcohol will kill them along with eggs and repel them. And also using dryer sheets. Spraying yourself down before bed also will help out and keep the bites away. Repeat about 2 wks later. I googled it and got a lot of positive answers. Wish you luck. Also mattress and box spring covers.
B
I truly get pleasure from while I read your blogs and its content.
Reply
B
Great post full of useful tips! My site is fairly new and I am also having a hard time getting my readers to leave comments. Analytics shows they are coming to the site but I have a feeling “nobody wants to be first”.
Reply
N
I am always searching online for articles that can help me. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also. Keep working, great job!
Reply